Spring Has Sprung…

Well it’s that time of year when the garden starts to come to life.  Not sure if I speak only for myself but like the garden I start to come out of hibernation and really start to enjoy the sunshine and the garden.

My Dutch Irises have come to life in the front garden.  They look absolutely stunning.  I have managed to even plant some broccoli and zucchini in the front yard.  Much to my fiancé’s dismay.  He’s not quite convinced vegetables belong in the front garden.  I personally don’t believe there are any hard and fast rules on where vegetables (or even fruit) can and cannot be planted.

Dutch Irises

So in the backyard I have set up a new compost bin.  It’s the first time I have used a commercial bought bin.  I suppose I will be able to let you know how it all works soon enough.

The most exciting thing is my eggplants.  I have my first eggplant and I can’t wait to be able to start picking.  The type I am growing is a heirloom variety called Listada Di Gandia.  I have grown these plants by seed and planted last season and have survived the winter.

Eggplant

 

A quick update on the garlic… It’s not happening!  I think Diesel just had too much fun with it.  However I have plenty of herbs – oregano, parsley, thyme, mint (found out I have a summer variety and it is starting to shoot), bay and I still have some basil growing.  My chilli plants have also survived the winter months.

I am so looking forward to the next couple of months.  I want to make sure I can get as much as possible into the ground.  It may also give me some welcome stress relief as my wedding day is not far around the corner now.

 

Leave a Reply

