What a Productive Weekend…

Had a big clean up this weekend.  The weather was just perfect for getting out in the garden and getting a few household chores done.

With the lawns mowed I decided to sort the cans and bottles and take them down to the recycling centre.  Made myself $47 to go spend down at the hardware/garden centre.  Needed some supplies to pot some plants up (including the lemon tree which Diesel liked).

While I was down at the hardware/garden centre I took advantage of the light globe recycling.  ZeroWaste SA state that this program “…ensures that globes will be recycled instead of going to landfill and prevents mercury contained in some globes from harming the environment”.

So while I was in the recycling mood I dropped off a few bags of clothing to the Lifeline bin.  Of course I put aside a couple of t-shirts to make myself a few more t-shirt bags.

Recycling and reusing was really the theme for the weekend.  I had realised how much I do recycle and reuse.  My yellow recycling bin is almost full for the fortnight (lucky it gets collected on Wednesday).  The green organic bin is also just about full.  Unfortunately for that bin I’ll have to wait another week.  Oh well perhaps I can take it easy on the weeding for the next week.  However I’m sure I will find plenty to do.

Books that may be of interest to keen recyclers and reusers…

101 Ways to Recycle Everyday Household Items

Jewelry Upcycled!: Techniques and Projects for Reusing Metal, Plastic, Glass, Fiber, and Found Objects

1000 Ideas for Creative Reuse: Remake, Restyle, Recycle, Renew (1000 Series)

Leave a Reply

